2013 12 21 Bayern Munich v Raja Casablanca

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

GOALLL! Yes I do get goals (sometimes) – Athletic0 Mineiro defeating Guangzhou Evergrande in quite literally the last kick of the match to win the Third Place Play Off 2-3. Thus no extra time and no penalties.

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

After Ronaldinho got sent off for the most awful two footed tackle ever and then proceeded to protest his innocence for five minutes, I thought the final would never take place.

A great victory? I didn’t really care. The only victory for us photographers was working electricity and for the first time in two weeks I had an acceptable internet connection. I could browse, send emails and actually send picture efficiently and provide the service people expect.

Upon hearing the sad news that David Coleman has passed away – he was my favourite commentator and also my favourite Spitting Image puppet – I saw my beloved Clyde in Scotland could only manage a 2-2 draw and were back to second.

The Germans were amazed at how Bayern Munich had progressed without kicking a ball, Dortmund and Leverkusen both apparently losing.

Anyway, the main event – FIFA Club World Cup 2013 – Bayern Munich v Raja Casablanca.

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

Bayern Fans in full voice and colour but utterly and obviously out numbered by the fans of Raja Casablanca.

I never seen a game so quickly killed off.

2-0 after 22 minutes and the game was over. There was no way the plucky Moroccans who have been the surprise of the tournament were going to even break down Bayern, let alone win.

The Green Lazer pens were back …

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

And when Ribery took a corner, from the other end of the pitch, it shone right in his face, causing him to shield his eyes and complain to the referee. Dare I say one of my favorite pictures of 2013!

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

The polite Moroccans listened to the stadium announcement telling them not to do it and they didn’t!

The last 10 minutes were spent trying to explain the DVD football films we have in the UK of say 100 great misses. We witnessed one of the Raja Casablanca players balloon the ball into the cold North African night sky in front of goal.

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

It was no great shock that Bayern won.

Mass celebrations – though Rafinha celebrating the most – probably as in his Brazilian culture this tournament again means more to the South Americans than the Europeans.

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

It was a strange evening for me. Since the start of the tournament I have been having my images stolen by an agency from China. People who know me that I can put up with most things, but I hate thieves. We had strange chats in a Marrakesh bar the other evening, three photographers who collectively had over £50,000 of camera equipment stolen – reliving horror stories to all – me included.

Anyway, after much tracking down I discovered the culprit, without any emotion calmly emailed that I required a certain fee and certain conditions and by the end of the game I got a result too.

A nice ending to the tournament which will help pay for my mobile phone bill which kind of went through the roof after I went through the roof at Lloyds Bank as they refused to verify me when I could not get cash out of an ATM. Yet again people who do not lead normal 9-5 lives get cast aside in society – idiots in suits making up rules spectacularly ignoring logistical issues like some customers simply have no idea on how much was credited into their account on December 19 thus the security call could go no further.

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

It wasn’t but whilst editing it seemed to be the Franck Ribéry show. He appeared in about 90% of my pictures.

Another Toyota Cup over and done with (I’m old school).

An OK tournament in a potentially amazing place – however I’m here to work and if the Moroccans want to host such events then they need to invest in a better internet structure.

Meeting the Brazilians at the hotel breakfast bar, chats were not about the Brazilian League, Zico, the Premier League – not even this tournament – but the fact that they could not skype, email or simply communicate back to South America. I felt their pain!

One last day tomorrow – explore Marrakech.

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

© AMA SPORTS PHOTO AGENCY

 

One response to “2013 12 21 Bayern Munich v Raja Casablanca

  1. “Matt Ashton – Our Man in Morocco”

    Can we see more of your laser pen portfolio ?

Leave a Reply

